Scholar Award

The award will be given to a faculty member at an AILACTE institution in his or her first five years of appointment as a full-time faculty member to conduct research related to the impact of teacher preparation at AILACTE institutions. The award is for the 2019-2020 academic year; it is expected that the recipient will disseminate the outcomes of the research project in several ways such as including in written form. Awardee will be invited to submit to the annual conference and journal.

The $2250 award is designed to enhance the professional development of the recipient and can be used for professional travel, support for professional work or other appropriate expenses. Again, we particularly seek research, new or already underway, that demonstrates the impact of teacher preparation at AILACTE institutions. We also continue to encourage research on the Qualities of Excellence (Liberal Arts, Moral Dimensions, Partnerships, and Global/Inclusivity).

Qualifications: Applicants must:

  • hold a regular faculty appointment at an AILACTE member institution;
  • be in the first five years of their full-time experience as faculty members;
  • demonstrate a desire to be involved in working on issues related to the unique mission of the association;
  • be willing to present a summary of the project in the AILACTE Newsletter: Views & News;
  • submit the research as an article to an appropriate refereed journal or to a conference.


Application Criteria Process: Applicants need to submit the following information:

  1. Email Award Committee Chair (contact information below) to indicate intent to submit application.
  2. Complete Submission of Application that includes information regarding the applicant's commitment to the mission of AILACTE and in the desired research focus of the award. Application should be submitted in PDF format.

(a) Identify the problem, purpose, and importance of the research study.

(b) Identify connection(s) to AILACTE mission statement.

(b) Briefly review the literature that informs the research

(c) Describes the research-based methodology: setting, data collected

(d) Identify research timeline

(e) Propose dissemination plan of the project’s findings; i.e. publication, presentation, classroom and student teaching applicatio

      3.  Three professional letters of support including at least one from a dean, department chair,
           or other appropriate supervisor. Letters should be submitted in PDF format.
      4.  A current curriculum vitae. Curriculum vitae should be submitted in PDF format.

When an award is made, the recipient will be asked to submit a brief statement that describes how the $2250 award will be used to enhance her or his professional development. This statement will be shared at the annual conference.

Please examine the Scholar Award Rubric prior to submitting your application.

Please send applications and reference letters by November 15th to:  Jennie Carr

Jennie Carr                       
AILACTE Awards Committee Chair                           
Teacher Education Program                        
Bridgewater College                                     
[email protected]                                


You will receive confirmation of application.                       

Recipients will be notified of their selection by December 15st.


Congratulations to Kate E. Strater, AILACTE's 2020 Scholar Award recipient

Recipients of AILACTE Scholar Award:


1998-99: Barbara Sanders, Whitworth College

1999-00: Dwight C. Watson, Hamline University

2000-01: Roger Mackey, Grove City College & Beverly Reitsma, University of Indianapolis

2001-02: Teresa Burns Murphy, Lyon College

2002-03: Karen Eifler, University of Portland

2003-04: Ruth Ference, Berry College

2004-05: Cathy Smeltzer Erb, Eastern Mennonite University

2005-06: --not awarded--

2006-07: Stephen Woolworth, Pacific Lutheran University

2007-08: Lisa Laurier, Whitworth University

2008-09: Azure Dee Smiley, University of Indianapolis

2009-10: W. Eric Grossman, Emory and Henry College

2010-11: Jon Eckert, Wheaton College

2011-12: David W. Denton, Seattle Pacific University

2012-13: John R. Walcott, Calvin College

2013-14: Susan R. Adams, Butler University

2014-15: Jennie Carr, Bridgewater College

2014-15:  Brian Yontz, Wittenberg College

2015-16:  Keith Lambert, Whitworth University

2015-16:  Julie Antilla, Seattle Pacific University

2016-17: Kelly Land, Piedmont College

2017-18: Trish Harvey, Hamline University

2018-19: Amber Peacock, Randolph-Macon College

2019-20: Kate E. Strater, Calvin University